Home » Logistics » Glossary » Commerce Control List (CCL)

Commerce Control List (CCL)

The Commerce Control List (CCL) is a list of items under the export control jurisdiction of the Bureau of Industry and Security, U.S. Department of Commerce. It is organized into ten broad categories reflecting the nature of the products, such as electronics or nuclear materials and is further divided into five product groups encompassing software and technologies.

These categories and product groups ultimately create a five-character alphanumeric code (e.g. 4D001) known as an Export Control Classification Number (ECCN).

The CCL list is structured as follows:

Commerce Control List Categories

0 Nuclear Materials, Facilities And Equipment (and Miscellaneous Items)

1 Materials, Chemicals, Microorganisms and Toxins

2 Materials Processing

3 Electronics

4 Computers

5 Part 1 — Telecommunications and Part 2 — Information Security

6 Sensors and Lasers

7 Navigation and Avionics

8 Marine

9 Aerospace and Propulsion

Five Product Groups

A End Items, Equipment, Accessories, Attachments, Parts, Components, and Systems

B Test, Inspection and Production Equipment

C Materials

D Software

E Technology

Was this article helpful?

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top